Open Contact Form
Please Contact Us

Maharaja Express Review



The Maharajas' Express is owned and operated by Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation and is the most expensive luxury train in India. It runs on 5 circuits covering more than 12 destinations across North-West and Central India, mainly centered around Rajasthan between the months of October to April The Maharajas' Express was voted "The World's Leading Luxury Train" at The World Travel Awards, 2012. It is the most expensive luxury train in India It was named to the 2011 list of World's Top 25 Trains by The Society of International Railway Travelers and was praised for its onboard accommodation and dining facilities, service, and off-train excursion program after its review in the Autumn of 2010 Maharajas' Express also bagged first runner up award in the Specialist Train Operators Category at Conde Nast Travelers Reader Choice Travel Award in 2011.


The luxury train service was started in March 2010. The Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Limited (IRCTC) and Cox and Kings India Ltd., had signed a joint venture to set up a company called Royale Indian Rail Tours Ltd. (RIRTL) to oversee the functioning and management of the Maharaja Express. This joint venture was terminated on 12 August 2011 and the train is now being operated exclusively by IRCTC.Maharajas Express was named to the 2011 list of World's Top 25 Trains by The Society of International Railway Travelers and has been internationally acclaimed for its on board accommodation and dining facilities, service, and off-train excursion programs. It is India's only train featuring a Presidential Suite spread over an entire carriage, offering guests a truly majestic experience as they explore the dramatic Indian landscape.


The Maharajas' Express train has been equipped with modern amenities to offer comfortable on board experiences to the guest. Pneumatic suspension add to the comfort during overnight journey and stay. Some of the facilities available on the train include live television, attached bathroom, dining cars, bar, lounge and souvenir shop among others. WI-FI is provided throughout the train and bathrooms are en-suite. Ornamented with marble and with silver fittings, it boasted a flush toilet and a power shower. More decadent still, the larger cabins have roll-top baths and spacious sitting rooms. Direct-to-Home (DTH) company Dish TV is now offering its services on the luxury train Maharaja Express. The company is using mobile in venture satellite antennas manufactured by ‘Gilat’ to enable live TV viewing on the move. Every seat has a dedicated set-top-box enabling the passenger to watch live television on the go.


The train comprises 23 carriages which include accommodation, dining, bar, lounge, generator and store cars. Accommodation is available in 14 guest carriages with total passenger capacity of 88. The accommodations on board are categorized as Deluxe cabins, Junior Suites, Suites and a Grand Presidential Suite that spans an entire carriage. Each guest carriage has been designed to recreate the opulence of Maharaja-style living. The train also has a lounge called the Rajah Club with a private bar, two dining cars and a dedicated bar car. An onboard souvenir boutique offers memoribilia for passengers.The train is also equipped with a water filtration plant as well.

Cabin Configuration

  • 5 Deluxe Cars
  • 6 Junior Suite Cars
  • 2 Suite Cars
  • 1 Presidential Suite car
  • 1 Bar car and 1 Lounge Car
  • 2 Restaurant cars
  • 1 Kitchen Car1 Staff Coach
  • 1 Executive Managers & Tour Managers Coach
Room Category Twin Double Total Cabins/Suites Passenger Capacity Sq Ft Area (per cabin)
Deluxe Cabins 15 5 20 40 112
Junior Suites 12 6 18 36 150
Suites 4 4 8 220
Presidential Suite 1 4 4 448
Total 27 15 43 88 -

Guest cabins

14 carriages with 43 individual cabins provide seating and sleeping capacity for 88 guests. There are 20 Deluxe Cabins, 18 Junior Suites, 4 Suites and a Presidential Suite offering 5-star equivalent accommodation and the only cabin type with a bathtub in the toilet. LCD televisions, eco-friendly toilets, direct dial phones, DVD player, internet, individual climate control and electronic safes are available in each guest cabin. There are 5 carriages in the category of Deluxe Cabins, a total of 20 cabins accommodating 40 passengers (there are 15 Twin bed cabins and 5 double bed cabins). There are a total of 18 cabins in the category of Junior Suites, accommodating 36 passengers (there are 12 Twin bed Cabins and 6 Double bed cabins). Additionally, there are four Suites available, having large separate sitting and sleeping areas. A Presidential suite built on an entire rail carriage, incorporating a separate sitting-cum-dining room, a master bedroom and bathroom with shower and bathtub, a twin bedroom and bathroom with shower. The Maharajas’ Express Presidential Suite is the first such a rail carriage of its kind in the world for commercial use.

Dining and Bar Coaches

The train has two dining cars designed for full five dining service, each with a seating capacity of 42 guests at a time so that all the guests dine together. The train has a state of the one kitchen car designed to provide a range of cuisines. The restaurants are named Rang Mahal and Mayur Mahal. Mayur Mahal (the Peacock restaurant) has peacock feather theme in its décor. Restaurant menus include traditional Indian cuisines along with Continental, Chinese and International cuisines. A dedicated bar carriage, the Safari Bar, offers wines, liqueurs, spirits and beers along with snacks and starters and a lounge cum bar called the Rajah club equipped with a multilingual library and board games offers a casual lounge experience


In the year 2012, IRCTC introduced five new journeysof the Maharajas' Express, of which two are short-term Golden Triangle (Delhi, Jaipur and Agra) tours and rest three are weeklong pan-Indian voyages.

Heritage of India

7 Nights / 8 Days
Destinations Covered:
Mumbai – Ajanta – Udaipur – Jodhpur – Bikaner – Jaipur – Ranthambore – Agra – Delhi.

Treasures of India

3 nights/4 days
Destinations Covered:
Delhi – Agra – Ranthambore – Jaipur – Delhi-Mumbai

Gems of India

3 Nights / 4 Days
Destinations Covered:
Delhi – Agra – Ranthambore – Jaipur – Delhi

Indian Panorama

7 Nights / 8 Days
Destinations Covered:
Delhi – Jaipur – Ranthambore – Fatehpur Sikri – Agra – Gwalior – Orchha – Khajuraho – Varanasi – Lucknow – Delhi

The Indian Splendor

7 Nights / 8 Days
Destinations Covered:
Delhi – Agra – Ranthambore – Jaipur – Bikaner – Jodhpur – Udaipur – Balasinor – Mumbai


  • Voted World Leading Luxury Train at World Travel Award 2012
  • 1st Runner up in the Specialist Train Operators Category at Condenast Travellers Reader Choice Awards 2011
  • Adjudged Best Luxury Train at CNBC Travel Awards 2010